Plenary 6 Sophisticated Social Media Use & Science

Facebook is almost eight years old. Twitter six. Yet because uptake has been gradual, our discussion of social media often remains stuck at a beginner’s “how to” stage. Not only is this dull and repetitive, it prevents us discussing the established and effective uses and users of social media in science communication and directions for the future. Let’s change that.

Kristin Alford (session producer & facilitator), Managing Director, Bridge8 Pty Ltd (@kristinalford)

Will Grant (panellist), Graduate Studies Convener, Australian National Centre for the  Public Awareness of Science, Australian National University (@willozap)

Kate Carruthers (panellist), Digital and Community Manager, Genea (@kcarruthers)

Ben Harris-Roxas (panellist), Managing Director, Harris-Roxas Health (@ben_hr, @hiablog)

With pre-recorded interview excerpts from:

  • Michele Banks, Artist (USA) (@artologica)
  • Alice Bell, Lecturer and researcher, Imperial College and UCL (UK) (@alicebell)
  • Shane McCracken, Director Gallomanor Communications and Producer of I’m a Scientist, Get me Out of Here! (UK) (@ShaneMc)
  • Andrew Maynard, Director, Risk Science Centre, University of Michigan (USA) (@2020science)

Plenary 3 Australia’s state Chief Scientists: science policy and the role of science communication challenges, science communication solutions

Australia has five state Chief Scientists. Hear them talk about their roles, how effective have they been in achieving their goals, and what directions they will take for the future. Most importantly you will hear their views on the role of science communication in their work and for their state, and what directions they see for science communication. This panel discussion may provide new opportunities for working with individual Chief Scientists or with them as a group.

Jesse Shore (session producer), Science Communicator, Prismatic Sciences & ASC President

Toss Gascoigne (chair), Executive Director, Toss Gascoigne and Associates

Mary O’Kane  (panel), NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer

Don Bursill (panel), Chief Scientist of South Australia, Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology

Graham Mitchell (panel), Chief Scientist of Victoria, Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment

Lyn Beazley (panel), Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Department of Commerce

Geoff Garrett (panel), Queensland Chief Scientist, Queensland Government