Plenary 3 Australia’s state Chief Scientists: science policy and the role of science communication challenges, science communication solutions

Australia has five state Chief Scientists. Hear them talk about their roles, how effective have they been in achieving their goals, and what directions they will take for the future. Most importantly you will hear their views on the role of science communication in their work and for their state, and what directions they see for science communication. This panel discussion may provide new opportunities for working with individual Chief Scientists or with them as a group.

Jesse Shore (session producer), Science Communicator, Prismatic Sciences & ASC President

Toss Gascoigne (chair), Executive Director, Toss Gascoigne and Associates

Mary O’Kane  (panel), NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer

Don Bursill (panel), Chief Scientist of South Australia, Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology

Graham Mitchell (panel), Chief Scientist of Victoria, Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment

Lyn Beazley (panel), Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Department of Commerce

Geoff Garrett (panel), Queensland Chief Scientist, Queensland Government